Actress Angie Harmon defends Bristol Palin six months too late

by

Angie Harmon may be a tolerable actress, but her timing is absolutely dreadful.  In a recent interview with Pop Tarts, the former Law & Order star defended Bristol Palin’s pregnancy.   Bristol Palin sighed and asked if Angie Harmon also wanted to recommend a team to win the 2009 Super Bowl.

Cute, but dumb.

Cute, but dumb.

Harmon discussed several issues in her interview including how she thinks President Obama is doing so far.

I don’t care what color he is. I’m just not crazy about what he’s doing and I heard all about this, and he’s gonna do that and change and change, so okay … I’m still dressing for a recession over here buddy and we’ve got unemployment at an all-time high and that was his number one thing and that’s the thing I really don’t appreciate. If I’m going to disagree with my President, that doesn’t make me a racist. If I was to disagree with W, that doesn’t make me racist. It has nothing to do with it, it is ridiculous.

Harmon immediately chooses to play the “I’m not racist” card.  Who has accused her of being racist?  I’m immensely critical of the Obama Administration’s fiscal policy so far and have never once been called a racist.

Here is what happens: Harmon doesn’t know what the fuck she’s talking about.  First off, blaming Obama for unemployment is a bit ridiculous, don’t you think?  Especially considering that the majority of layoffs in this recession have happened under Bush?  And the fact that Obama has yet to set a national budget?  So since you clearly don’t know what you are talking about, people assume you’re racist because you’re a goddamn dumbass.  And those people are wrong to do that, but you’re not giving them too many options when you’re clearly under-educated and over-opinionated on the subject.

But I digress.  The funniest portion of this interview comes in Harmon’s defense of Bristol Palin’s pregnancy.

She [Bristol Palin] is in a position that any girl could be in: is this guy marrying me because he loves me and wants to be with me? To be in my life and our child’s life? This is a big deal; we’re getting married at 17! Nowadays, those don’t last. So if everyone could just get off her and let her live her life and do it in a way that she thinks is best, I’m all for it. I really am. She has my support 100 percent, she’s a sweetheart. I’ve got three daughters and I’m going to stand up for them and support them in whatever they want to do.

On the surface this seems perfectly fine.  But given proper context, let’s reexamine Harmon’s idiocy.  Sarah Palin, Bristol’s mother, wanted to abolish abortion and only teach abstinence in schools and not contraception.  Those are legislative decisions made by her mother.  No one was saying Bristol was a slut.  People were saying, “Hey, Sarah Palin’s bullshit abstinence program doesn’t seem to work.”  Let’s take a look at some of the commentary that occurred during that time.  Here is an article written by CNN’s Roland Martin. And a video from the Young Turks.  And James Carville on Larry King.

All three attacks Sarah Palin’s policy decisions, not Bristol Palin.  The problem is that it’s pretty clear to anyone with a rational thought in their mind where Harmon gets her news.  Fox.  Limbaugh.  Savage.  The Usual Suspects.  The right wingers immediately turned these legitimate arguments from the left this into an attack on Bristol rather than an attack on Sarah Palin’s policy.

I don’t know what we can do with people like Angie Harmon.  What’s it like to live a life like that?  There are people on the other side of the aisle that are just as bad, but after a while your own curiosity has to come into play.  You actually have to read the commentary for yourself or even listen to Rush for a few minutes on the way to work.  Keep your mind moving.

RWP Rating: Unusual

Full Story: FoxNews.com

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

